Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


4 October 2016

Club News


4 October 2016

Bristol Rovers 0-0 Yeovil Town (5-3 after penalties)

Attendance: 2,117 (130)

Rovers secured a 5-3 penalties win against Yeovil Town after a 0-0 draw after 90 minutes.

Darrell Clarke made six changes to the side that beat Northampton Town on Saturday, recalling Daniel Leadbitter, James Clarke, Byron Moore, Cristian Montano, Hiram Boateng and Luke James to the starting 11.

Rovers looked relatively bright in the early going as Cristian Montano and Luke James both flashed crosses into the penalty however no one was able to apply the finishing touch to steer the ball past John Maddison.

At the other end of the field, Alex Lawless tried his luck from range but his effort was turned behind by Hiram Boateng. From the resulting corner, Yeovil had the ball in the back of the net along with Kelle Roos but referee James Adcock had called for a foul from Bevis Mugabi.

The boys in blue and white continued to fire low crosses into the penalty area as Cristian Montano's cross was turned behind just before half time. The cross was aimed toward Peter Hartley and James Clarke but both Rovers defenders failed to connect with their headers.

Darrell Clarke's side came out for the second half and looked much more positive as Cristian Montano tested John Maddison early from inside the penalty area.

Minutes later, Luke James worked himself into a dangerous area of the pitch where he was fouled by Glovers skipper Ryan Dickson. From the resulting free kick Lee Brown curled his direct effort over the crossbar.

Rovers looked to have taken the lead with just under an hour played as Cristian Montano won the ball well from Matt Dolan inside the penalty before firing a low powerful cross into Alex Lacey and what looked beyond John Maddison but the linesman waved away the Rovers protests.

It was one way traffic in the second half as Hiram Boateng was able to pick out Rory Gaffney but the Irishman dragged his shot narrowly wide. The miss prompted Darrell Clarke to freshen things up as he made a double substitution bringing on Charlie Colkett and Matty Taylor in an effort to secure all three points.

Things went from bad to worse for the Glovers as second half substitute Kevin Dawson was shown a quickfire pair of yellow cards, the first came as he pushed Cristian Montano in the chest followed up by a second yellow for dissent by referee James Adcock.

Rovers continued to press for the opening goal as an effort from Luke James was blocked well by Bevis Mugabi before the ball fell to Billy Bodin on the edge of the penalty area but the winger curled his effort just wide of the post with John Maddison at full stretch.

Darrell Clarke's side threw the kitchen sink at Yeovil in the closing stages but Darren Way's side stood firm to secure a point for both sides and take the game into penalties for the additional point on offer.

Luke James stepped up first for Rovers and scored thundering the ball down the middle of the goal.

Ryan Dickson was first for the Glovers and copied the Rovers man making the game 1-1.

Billy Bodin was up next for Rovers who fired low and hard past Maddison.

Ryan Hedges stepped up next and his penalty was saved by Kelle Roos low down to the keepers right hand side.

Rovers top goal scorer Matty Taylor took Rovers third spot kick dispatching it past Maddison to give Rovers a 3-1 lead.

Izale Mcleod was up next and sent Kelle Roos the wrong way to make it 3-2.

It was Charlie Colkett up next who extended Rovers lead with a solid penalty, making it 4-2. 

Alex Lawless was up next to keep Yeovil Town in the game and he scored making it 4-3.

Finally it was the turn of Cristian Montano who dispatched his penalty superbly securing the additional point for Darrell Clarke's side. 

Rovers: Roos; Leadbitter, J. Clarke, Hartley (C), Brown (Colkett - 67); Moore (Bodin - 77), Sinclair, Boateng, Montano; James, Gaffney (Taylor - 67).

Unused Substitutes: Mildenhall (GK), McChrystal, Mansell, Easter.

Yeovil: Maddison, Smith, Dolan, Mugabi, Lacey, Lawless, Khan (Dawson - 60), Dickson (C), Campbell, Hedges, Whitfield (McLeod - 55).

Unused Substitutes: Krysiak (GK), Ezewele, Copp, Sowunmi, Lea. 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account