Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Carabao Cup Second Round Draw: Who Can Rovers Face?

Rovers beat Cambridge United in the First Round - here's all you need to know about potential opponents in the Second Round

10 August 2017

Bristol Rovers will find our their Carabao Cup Second Round opponents this evening.

Darrell Clarke's men comfortably dispatched Cambridge United in the First Round, with Billy Bodin netting a brace in a 4-1 win at the Memorial Stadium.

Tonight’s Carabao Cup Round Two draw will take place on Sky Sports News from 10pm.

The 25 highest placed teams from last season's league campaign are all seeded for the draw (including 13 Premier League clubs that are not involved in European Competition).

Therefore, Rovers will be among the unseeded teams for the draw with all Second Round games taking place during the week commencing Monday, August 21.

The regional groups and draw numbers are as follows:

South Seeds
1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Brentford
3. Brighton & Hove Albion
4. Cardiff City
5. Crystal Palace
6. Fulham
7. Norwich City
8. Reading
9. Southampton
10. Swansea City
11. Watford
12. West Ham United

North Seeds
1. Aston Villa
2. Burnley
3. Derby County / Grimsby Town
4. Huddersfield Town
5. Hull City
6. Leeds United
7. Leicester City
8. Middlesbrough
9. Newcastle United
10. Sheffield Wednesday
11. Stoke City
12. West Bromwich Albion
13. Sunderland / Barnsley *

South Non - Seeds
13. Barnet
14. Birmingham City
15. Bristol City
16. Bristol Rovers
17. Burton Albion
18. Charlton Athletic
19. Cheltenham Town
20. Ipswich Town
21. Millwall
22. Milton Keynes Dons
23. Queens Park Rangers
24. Wolverhampton Wanderers

North Non - Seeds
14. Bury / Barnsley*
15. Accrington Stanley
16. Blackburn Rovers
17. Bolton Wanderers
18. Carlisle United
19. Doncaster Rovers
20. Newport County
21. Nottingham Forest
22. Rochdale
23. Rotherham United
24. Scunthorpe United
25. Sheffield United
26. Wigan Athletic

* In the event Sunderland overcome Bury this evening at the Energy Check Stadium at Gigg Lane, Barnsley will drop into the unseeded pot. If there is a home win then the Oakwell Club will be seeded at ball number 13 in the Northern draw and Bury will be ball 14.

In addition, the winners of the outstanding fixture between Grimsby Town and Derby County (rearranged to be played on August 22) will be ball 3 in the North seeded pot. This is because Derby County would have been a seeded team if they had won Tuesday’s night’s abandoned game based on last season’s final league position.

Meanwhile, the EFL have today confirmed that the Round Three draw, in conjunction with cup sponsors Carabao, will take place in Beijing, China on August 24, 2017. Full details to be announced in due course.

Advertisement block