Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

DARRELL ON GRIMSBY

4 July 2014

Manager on tough opening day fixture


The wait for the Conference fixture list is over and we now know we face Grimsby Town on the opening day of the season when we will, no doubt, welcome former Rovers midfielder Craig Disley back to the Memorial Stadium.

Commenting on that opening day fixture Rovers manager Darrell Clarke said; “It means we face a tough start to the season.

“Grimsby are a big club, but have struggled to regain their place in the Football League even though they have been play off semi-finalists in the last two seasons. 

“As well as being a tough start, it’s a very attractive opening day fixture for us and I hope we can draw a big crowd to the Mem to see us get the season underway.

“I know their manager, Paul Hurst, very well and he has a very experienced squad at his disposal, and I think it’s a game we can all look forward to.”

The clashes with local rivals Forest Green Rovers both take place before Christmas, as we travel to the New Lawn on Bank Holiday Monday 25th August with the return fixture taking place at the Mem on Saturday 18th October 2014.

Games against Torquay take place within the space of a week, as we travel to Plainmoor on Boxing Day, 26th December, with the Gulls visiting us on New Year’s Day 2015.

Easter 2015 sees Rovers take on Chester City at the Mem on Saturday 4th April and travel to face Kidderminster Harriers two days later.

The Conference season ends on Saturday 25th April with a home game against Alfreton Town.

As far as cup competitions are concerned, we enter the FA Cup at the Fourth Qualifying Round stage (ties to be played on Saturday 25th October) and we take our place in the FA Trophy, (the first round to be played on Saturday 13th December).

Please bear in mind the fact that the fixture list is subject to change because, as soon as practical, BT Sport will be selecting their first pick of LIVE matches as part of up to 30 Football Conference Premier Division fixtures to be screened during the 2014/15 season.

For your information the full list of fixtures is repeated below.

BRISTOL ROVERS
    Date Opponents Home/Away
Sat 09-Aug-14 GRIMSBY TOWN home
Tue 12-Aug-14 BARNET         away
Sat 16-Aug-14 ALTRINCHAM away
Sat 23-Aug-14 AFC TELFORD UNITED home
Mon 25-Aug-14 FOREST GREEN ROVERS away
Sat 30-Aug-14 FC HALIFAX TOWN home
Sat 06-Sep-14 BRAINTREE TOWN away
Tue 09-Sep-14 WREXHAM                 home
Sat 13-Sep-14 LINCOLN CITY         away
Tue 16-Sep-14 NUNEATON TOWN home
Sat 20-Sep-14 WOKING                 home
Sat 27-Sep-14 SOUTHPORT         away
Tue 30-Sep-14 EASTLEIGH         away
Sat 04-Oct-14 DOVER ATHLETIC home
Tue 07-Oct-14 DARTFORD         home
Sat 11-Oct-14 ALDERSHOT TOWN away
Sat 18-Oct-14 FOREST GREEN ROVERS     home
Sat 25-Oct-14 FA CUP 4th QUALIFYING ROUND TBC
Sat 01-Nov-14 AFC TELFORD UNITED away
Sat 08-Nov-14 FA Cup 1st ROUND PROPER TBC
Tue 11-Nov-14 ALFRETON TOWN away
Sat 15-Nov-14 KIDDERMINSTER HARRIERS home
Sat 22-Nov-14 CHESTER                 away
Tue 25-Nov-14 BARNET                 home
Sat 29-Nov-14 WELLING UNITED home
Tue 02-Dec-14 WREXHAM                 away
Sat 06-Dec-14 WELLING UNITED away
Sat 13-Dec-14 FA TROPHY 1st ROUND TBC
Sat 20-Dec-14 GATESHEAD         home
Fri 26-Dec-14 TORQUAY UNITED away
Sun 28-Dec-14 MACCLESFIELD TOWN home
Thu 01-Jan-15 TORQUAY UNITED home
Sun 04-Jan-15 NUNEATON TOWN away
Sat 10-Jan-15 FA TROPHY 2nd ROUND TBC
Sat 17-Jan-15 WOKING                 away
Sat 24-Jan-15 BRAINTREE TOWN home
Sat 31-Jan-15 DARTFORD         away
Sat 07-Feb-15 LINCOLN CITY         home
Sat 14-Feb-15 GRIMSBY TOWN         away
Sat 21-Feb-15 ALTRINCHAM         home
Sat 28-Feb-15 GATESHEAD         away
Sat 07-Mar-15 EASTLEIGH         home
Sat 14-Mar-15 FC HALIFAX TOWN away
Sat 21-Mar-15 ALDERSHOT TOWN home
Sat 28-Mar-15 MACCLESFIELD TOWN away
Sat 04-Apr-15 CHESTER                 home
Mon 06-Apr-15 KIDDERMINSTER HARRIERS away
Sat 11-Apr-15 SOUTHPORT         home
Sat 18-Apr-15 DOVER ATHLETIC away
Sat 25-Apr-15 ALFRETON TOWN home

Advertisement block